|
Domain Registry of America Scam |
|
|
|
Saturday, 27 September 2008 16:03 |
|
A company calling itself the "Domain Registry of America" or "Domain Registry of Canada" or "Domain Registry of Europe" is unlawfully targeting domain owners to transfer their domain registration to them upon renewal. This is a reported scam that has affected many domain owners in the past, and seems to be targeting domain owners in the UK now.
This company harvests information publicly available in the WHOIS database. They use this information to confuse domain owners. This company has already had a few court injunctions with regard to domain name registrations.
If you have recently received an "official looking" letter from the "Domain Registry of America" saying that your domain is about to expire and asking you to renew it with them, please IGNORE IT. You do not need to make any payment to this company in order to maintain your domain registration. If you have already made a payment I would strongly recommend to contact your credit card company or bank to stop or reverse the payment.
For more info:
http://news.cnet.com/2100-1023-978862.html
http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2003/12/domainreg.htm
http://domainscams.co.uk/domain-name-scammer_4_Domain-Registry-of-America.php
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2004/01/06/court_bars_canadian_domain_slammer/
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/forums/index.cfm?action=showthread&threadid=288980&forumid=13
http://www.synuk.com/droa/
http://www.the-hug.co.uk/opus405.html
The support team @ e-noise.com
|